Frosty Meyer Lemon Cookies

Meyer Lemonpalooza, Part One

Growing up, our super special extra fabulous thanks for not setting the grocery store on fire treat was a package of Archway Frosty Lemon cookies.  Believe me when I say, they taste better in my childhood memories than they do in adult reality.  But there is no reason *I* can’t make something that tastes as good as the frosty lemons of my past.

A while back my go-to food site the Kitchn featured a recipe for Mandarin Orange Cookies, which they had adapted from a recipe for Meyer Lemon Sugar Cookies from Tallgrass Kitchen.  So as soon as I saw this:

I knew what I was going to do.

The Tallgrass Kitchen recipe looked perfectly fine, but I wanted something a little more moist and MEGA lemony.  So I tinkered with the eggs, sugar, and lemon quantities.  And of course my frosty lemon cookies wouldn’t be complete without, well, the frosty part, so I borrowed from the Kitchn and added a simple lemon glaze.  Here is what I came up with:

The Hussy’s Frosty Meyer Lemon Cookies

  • 1 2/3 C sugar
  • Zest of 4 Meyer lemons
  • 1 C unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 whole egg plus 2 egg yolks
  • 1/2 C Meyer lemon juice, plus approximately 4 T
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 3/4 C flour, sifted
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 2 3/4 t baking powder
  • 1 1/2 C powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In food processor, pulse sugar and lemon zest fully combined.

Stir flour, salt, and baking powder in a separate bowl.

Cream butter and lemon sugar until light and fluffy. Add egg and egg yolks and beat on high for about 2 minutes.  Scrape down sides.

Add 1/2 C lemon juice and vanilla and beat ‘til well-mixed.

Add dry ingredients and stir until just combined.

Chill dough for 15 minutes (you can also pipe room temperature batter for Fancy! results).

Drop spoonfuls of dough onto a lined baking sheet. Bake for 9 minutes until just turning golden on bottoms.

While cookies are baking, stir powdered sugar and reserved lemon juice until smooth.  Drizzle over warm cookies.

SDH Frosty Meyer Lemon Cookies

4 Comments

Filed under Cookies, Food Pr0n, I Jam Econo, SDH Exclusive Recipe, Uncompensated Product Placement

4 responses to “Frosty Meyer Lemon Cookies

  1. Hey, Tallgrass Kitchen here. Thanks for trying my recipe! I love to see how things evolve. I’d love to try your version, especially the fancy piped rendition. –Anna

  2. Ruby Falls

    Thank you so much! I love your blog (blush). I’m thinking about switching the glaze for a less tart icing. But so far the whole household has given the current incarnation a bunch of very sticky thumbs up.

  3. Those turned out beautifully! Thank you for sharing with us 🙂

  4. Ruby Falls

    Thanks! Part 2 (Meyer Lemon Curd) is now up. Please keep the awesome specials coming!

Leave a Reply

